Rare original edition in period binding, 1888, the year in which he shook the Third Republic.

 

Le général Boulanger par Nadar
General Boulanger by Nadar

[General Georges Boulanger (1837-1891)]. Petit Souvenir. Paris, no name, 1888. Miniature calendar (7,8 x 5,5 cm), all printed in red. Full tobacco morocco, silver metal clasp and trims open with a leafy frieze, peacock-eyes edges on a gold background, brown silk tabis, pocket on the inner back cover, brown cloth pencil case.

Written on the cover page: "Small calpine that belonged to General Boulanger… before he left for exile. // Dumont d'Urville Street 11bis Paris 1889 ", his address at the time.

Boulanger Agenda 1888

This miniature agenda, in addition to the rental prices of the main theatres and the prices of the discount cars, contains appointments for lunches and dinners 19 May to 19 July. Guests include artists, Carolus-Duran, Detaille, Falguières, Marquet de Vasselot (30 June), his political friends Dillon, then Rochefort (9 June) as well as Renan, Countess of Loynes, Xavier Feuillant, Jollivet, Naquet, Billing, Duchêne, Demery, Dubuisson or "Le Comité".

Boulanger Agenda 1888

General Boulanger had been Minister of War in 1886 ; elected Member of Parliament for the North in April 1888, he becomes the leader of the nationalist camp in the Parliament. At the head of his movement, the “boulangisme”, he then leads a vigorous campaign against the government. He calls for the revision of the Constitution and for the dissolution of the parliamentary assembly. The 12 July, he faces Council President Charles Floquet ; the two men will go so far as to fight in a duel in which the general will be wounded. Having resigned as an Member of Parliament, boulanger will be plebiscious again in new by-elections. In the country, the agitation of the people is at its height. The government reacted by denouncing the “boulangist conspiracy”, and issues an arrest warrant for the general, April 1889. Boulanger went into exile in Brussels in April. The 14 August 1889, the Senate convened in the High Court of Justice sentenced him in absentia with Rochefort and Count Dillon to "deportation to a fortified enclosure". The movement he embodied began to flow back quickly ; September parliamentary elections 1889 are not in his favour. Boulanger will die in Belgium in September 1891 : confused by the disappearance of his mistress who died of a phtisia, he will commit suicide on her grave, inconsolable lover…

This "political and greedy" notebook plunges us into the intrigues of a crucial year for General Boulanger and the IIIth Republic.

Precious historical document.

1 500 €

Précieux agenda du général Boulanger, 1888, l’année durant laquelle il ébranla la IIIe République.

 

Le général Boulanger par Nadar
Le général Boulanger par Nadar

[Général Georges Boulanger (1837-1891)]. Petit Souvenir. Paris, sans nom, 1888. Agenda miniature (7,8 x 5,5 cm), entièrement imprimé en rouge. Plein maroquin tabac, fermoir et garnitures en métal argenté ajourées d’une frise feuillagée, tranches à motif d’œil de paon sur fond d’or, tabis de soie brune, poche au contre-plat inférieur, étui à crayon en tissu brun.

Inscrit sur la page de garde : « Petit calpin ayant appartenu au Général Boulanger… avant son départ pour l’exil. // rue Dumont d’Urville 11bis Paris 1889 », son adresse à l’époque.

Boulanger Agenda 1888

Cet agenda miniature, en plus des prix des places de location des principaux théâtres et des prix des voitures de remise, contient les rendez-vous pour les déjeuners et les diners du 19 mai au 19 juillet. On compte parmi les convives des artistes, Carolus-Duran, Detaille, Falguières, Marquet de Vasselot (30 juin), ses amis politiques Dillon, puis Rochefort (9 juin) ainsi que Renan, la comtesse de Loynes, Xavier Feuillant, Jollivet, Naquet, Billing, Duchêne, Demery, Dubuisson ou encore « Le Comité ».

Boulanger Agenda 1888

Le général Boulanger avait été ministre de la Guerre en 1886 ; élu député du Nord en avril 1888, il devient le chef du camp nationaliste à la Chambre. A la tête de son mouvement, le « boulangisme », il mène alors une campagne vigoureuse contre le gouvernement. Il exige la révision de la Constitution et prône la dissolution de l’assemblée parlementaire. Le 12 juillet, il affronte le Président du Conseil Charles Floquet ; les deux hommes iront jusqu’à se battre en duel au cours duquel le général sera blessé. Ayant démissionné de sa charge de député, Boulanger se fera à nouveau plébisciter à l’occasion de nouvelles élections partielles. Dans le pays, l’agitation est à son comble. Le gouvernement réagit en dénonçant le « complot boulangiste », et lance un mandat d’arrêt contre le général, en avril 1889. Boulanger s’exile alors à Bruxelles dès avril. Le 14 août 1889, le Sénat réuni en Haute Cour de justice le condamne par contumace avec Rochefort et le comte Dillon à la « déportation dans une enceinte fortifiée ». Le mouvement qu’il a incarné se met à refluer avec rapidité ; les élections législatives de septembre 1889 ne lui sont pas favorables. Boulanger mourra en Belgique en septembre 1891 : bouleversé par la disparition de sa maîtresse décédée d’une phtisie, il se suicidera sur sa tombe, en amant inconsolable…

Ce calepin « politique et gourmand » nous plonge dans les intrigues d’une année cruciale pour le général Boulanger et la IIIe République.

Précieux document historique.

1 500 €