Fake Almanac containing a crucifix, clandestine devotion during the Revolution

Faux almanach. Crucifixion. Révolution.

Fake Almanac, binding only, hiding a clandestine crucifix in a box glued to the back and back inner cover, the monting probably dating from the revolutionary era, around 1793. 10,6 x 5,5 cm. Contemporary red morocco , long back decorated with gilt fillets, tools and casters forming rectangular patterns with a central point, broad framing on covers consisting of a succession of 10 gilt tooled and casters, with, in the center, a pomegrenate tool in an oval medallion suspended by a knot and supported by two branches of pomegranate, with small gilt tools in spandrel, gilt casters on cuts, Augsburg gilded paper endpapers with rich orange floral motifs.

The crucifix, in the center of a balsa box, consists of a Christ in glory in polychrome wax (2,7 x 2,7 cm), on a balsa cross, delicately decorated with a remarkable work of golden paperolles, all on a burgundy red fabric ; the box is protected by an old bubbled glass, the sides, that form the edges of the book, are covered with green paper under gold.                                             

This curious object of devotion is carefully hidden in a refined and elegant binding of one of those almanacs that were offered as etrennes under Louis XVI. The pomegranate depicted on the covers, ornamental tool frequently used at the time, discreetly represented for Christians the community of faithful, symbol of Jesus. Dechristianization organized during the French Revolution, for the benefit of the cult of Reason and then of the Supreme Being, made religious practice perilous. Crucifixes were abhorred when they were not destroyed, their possession making them suspicious, the royalists associating the fate of Christ the Redeemer who died on the cross with that of Louis XVI, martyr-king executed on the scaffold.

This almanac, emblematic of the Ancien-Régime, falsified for clandestine religious practices, is a strong testimony of the attachment to royalty and the church that its owner, woman or man of quality, felt, in spite of everything, during this tragic time.

It emerges all the more emotion.   

Some rare and very discreet restorations.

Very nice object, very rare.

faux almanach crucifixion

4 500 €

Faux Almanach recelant un crucifix, dévotion clandestine sous la Révolution

Faux Almanach, reliure seule, dissimulant un crucifix clandestin dans une boîte collée au dos et au contre-plat inférieur, montage datant  vraisemblablement  de l’époque révolutionnaire. 10,6 x 5,5 cm. Maroquin rouge de l’époque, dos long orné de filets, fers et roulettes dorés formant des motifs rectangulaires avec un point central, large encadrement sur les plats constitués d’une succession de 10 filets et roulettes dorés, avec, au centre, un fer à la grenade dans un médaillon ovale suspendu par un nœud et soutenu par deux rameaux de grenadier, avec des petits fers dorés en écoinçons, roulette dorée sur les coupes et sur les chasses, contre-garde en papier doré d’Augsbourg  à riches motifs floraux oranges.

Le crucifix, au centre d’une boite en balsa, est constitué d’un Christ en gloire en cire polychrome (2,7 x 2,7 cm), sur une croix en balsa, délicatement orné d’un remarquable travail de paperolles dorées, le tout sur un tissu rouge Bourgogne ; la boite est protégée par un verre ancien bullé, les côtés, qui forment les tranches du livre, sont recouverts de papier vert sous or.                                             

Ce curieux objet de dévotion est soigneusement dissimulé dans une reliure raffinée et élégante d’un de ces almanachs que l’on offrait comme étrennes sous Louis XVI. La grenade figurée sur les plats, fleuron ornemental fréquemment utilisé à l’époque, représentait discrètement pour les chrétiens la communauté des croyants, symbole de Jésus. La déchristianisation organisée sous la Révolution française, au profit du culte de la Raison puis de l’Être suprême, rendait périlleuse la pratique religieuse. Les crucifix étaient abhorrés quand ils n’étaient pas détruits, leur possession rendant suspect, les royalistes associant le destin du Christ rédempteur mort sur la croix à celui de Louis XVI, roi-martyr exécuté sur l’échafaud.

Cet almanach, emblématique de l’Ancien-Régime, falsifié à des fins de pratiques religieuses clandestines, constitue ainsi un témoignage fort de l’attachement à la royauté et à l’église que son possesseur, femme ou homme de qualité, éprouvait, envers et contre tout, dans cette tragique époque.

Il s’en dégage d’autant plus d’émotion.   

Quelques rares  et très discrètes restaurations.

Très bel objet, de toute rareté.

faux almanach crucifixion

4 500 €