Jean-Baptiste Gobel. Alsatia diplomatica, his copy of work heavily annotated by himself for the treaty of exchange of parishes between the diocese of Besançon and the bishopric of Basel, treaty signed on 17 November 1779.

 

Johann-Daniel Schoepflin – Andreas Lamey. Alsatia diplomatica. Mannhemii, ex typographia elect. aulica et academica, 1772-1775. 2 vol. in folio (dim. 40 x 26 cm). [Volume I] : Alsatia ævi Merovingici Carolingici Saxonici Salici Suevici diplomatica. Mannhemii, ex typographia academica, 1772. [6] pp. (preface), 485 pp. Title in red and black, engraved vignette depicting the Rhine and Alsace paying tribute to Strasbourg by Johan Martin Weis, engraver of the city of Strasbourg, headbands, endpieces, ornamental initials, 20 engraved plates folded out of text reproducing various charters. [Volume II] : Alsatia periodi regum et imperatorum Habsburgicæ Luzelburgicæ Austriacæ tandemque Gallicæ dipomatica […] edidit recensuit digessit animadversiones indices et præfationem adiecit Andreas Lamey. Mannhemii, ex typographia elect. aulica et academica, 1775.; [8] pp. address to the reader as a preface, 530 pp., [77] pp. (index) (geography, names and words). Title in red and black, headbands, endpieces, ornamental initials. Contemporary full marbled sheepskin , back with 6 decorated raised bands, title pieces in garnet maroquin, volume number label in tawny maroquin.  

Original Edition published shortly after the death of the author by the care of Andreas Lamey secretary of the Mannheim Academy of Sciences whose Palatine Elector wanted the work to be devoted to history.

Jean-Daniel Schoepflin (1694-1771), alsatian historian, taught history and Latin eloquence at the University of Strasbourg. Because of his publications on the history of Alsace and the surrounding countries, as well as his work as a princely genealogist, he gained European fame that took part in the university 'golden age' of Strasbourg in the 18th century.. He is the author of L’Alsace Illustrée published in 1761, one of the most important works in Alsatian history, as well as one of the founders of the modern historical method.L’Alsace diplomatique is a collection of charters that have been used in l’Alsace Illustrée, some of which have disappeared, such as Charters II, 117   n° 899 , 2.I.1316, II 160 n° 975 , 8.XII.1337 and II 287-288 n° 1215 7.III.1390 of the Landsberg family. 

Gobel Alsatia Diplomatica annotée de sa main

A work copy of Jean-Baptiste-Joseph Gobel who has heavily annotated it, and from which he drew from many historical sources when he was working on the treaty of exchange of parishes between the diocese of Besançon and the bishopric of Basel, treaty signed on 17 November 1779 ; on this occasion, Porrentruy, Cœuve, Buix, Boncourt, Bonfol, Bressaucourt, Bure, Chevenez, Courchavon, Courtemaîche, Courgenay, Cornol, Courtedoux, Damphreux, Beurnevésin, Damvant, Fontenais, Grandfontaine, Alle and Montignez returned to the bishopric of Basel. Gobel, born in Thann in 1727, auxiliary Bishop of Basel with the title of Bishop in partibus of Lydda, was also one of the writters, with Vergennes, of the treaty of alliance between the King of France and the Bishop of Basel in 1780. In 1789, Gobel is elected as a Member of Parliament for the Etats-Généraux by the clergy of the districts of Belfort and Huningue, and constitutional bishop of Paris. He then incited the government to occupy the bishopric of Basel. France, pretending the presence of the Austrians, invaded the bishopric on 28 April 1792. He was then appointed civil commissioner in the country of Basel where he was accused of abusing his power. Hébertist, he was guillotined on 13 th April 1794.

Gobel Alsatia Diplomatica annoté de sa main

Les 2 volumes with his ex-libris armored engraved in each ; one is half ripped off.

Gobel Alsatia Diplomatica annotée de sa main

Lower angle of p. 168 in vol. I cut out without lack of text, few foxing. Skillful binding restorations. Exceptional document.

6 000 €

Jean-Baptiste Gobel. Alsatia diplomatica, son exemplaire de travail abondamment annoté de sa main en vue du traité d’échange de paroisses entre le diocèse de Besançon et l’évêché de Bâle, traité signé le 17 novembre 1779.

 

Gobel Alsatia Diplomatica annoté de sa mainJohann-Daniel Schoepflin – Andreas Lamey. Alsatia diplomatica. Mannhemii, ex typographia elect. aulica et academica, 1772-1775. 2 vol. in-folio (dim. 40 x 26 cm). [Tome I] : Alsatia ævi Merovingici Carolingici Saxonici Salici Suevici diplomatica. Mannhemii, ex typographia academica, 1772. [6] pp. de préface, 485 pp. Titre en rouge et noir, vignette gravée représentant le Rhin et l’Alsace offrant leur tribut à Strasbourg par Johan Martin Weis, graveur de la ville de Strasbourg, bandeaux, culs-de-lampe, lettres ornées, 20 planches gravées repliées hors-texte reproduisant diverses chartes. [Tome II] : Alsatia periodi regum et imperatorum Habsburgicæ Luzelburgicæ Austriacæ tandemque Gallicæ dipomatica […] edidit recensuit digessit animadversiones indices et præfationem adiecit Andreas Lamey. Mannhemii, ex typographia elect. aulica et academica, 1775.; [8] pp. d’adresse au lecteur en guise de préface, 530 pp., [77] pp. d’index (géographie, noms et mots). Titre en rouge et noir, bandeaux, culs-de-lampe, lettres ornées. Pleine basane fauve marbrée de l’époque, dos à 6 nerfs ornés, pièces de titre en maroquin grenat, pièces de tomaison en maroquin fauve.  

Edition originale publiée peu de temps après le décès de l’auteur par les soins d’Andréas Lamey secrétaire de l’Académie des Sciences de Mannheim dont l’Electeur palatin voulait que les travaux fussent consacrés à l’Histoire.

Jean-Daniel Schoepflin (1694-1771), historien alsacien, enseigna l’histoire et l’éloquence latine à l’Université de Strasbourg. Ses publications sur l’histoire de l’Alsace et des régions alentour, ainsi que son travail de généalogiste princier lui firent acquérir une renommée européenne qui participa à l’« âge d’or » universitaire de Strasbourg au XVIIIe siècle. Il est l’auteur de  L’Alsace Illustrée parue en 1761, l’un des plus importants ouvrages de l’histoire alsacienne, ainsi que l’un des fondateurs de la méthode historique moderne.L’Alsace diplomatique est un recueil de chartes qui ont servi à l’Alsace Illustrée, dont certaines ont disparu, telles les chartes II, 117   n° 899 du 2.I.1316, II 160 n° 975 du 8.XII.1337 et II 287-288 n° 1215 du 7.III.1390 de la famille de Landsberg. 

Gobel Alsatia Diplomatica annotée de sa mainExemplaire de travail de Jean-Baptiste-Joseph Gobel qui l’a abondamment annoté, et dans lequel il a puisé de nombreuses sources historiques lorsqu’il travaillait au traité d’échange de paroisses entre le diocèse de Besançon et l’évêché de Bâle, traité signé le 17 novembre 1779 ; à cette occasion, Porrentruy, Cœuve, Buix, Boncourt, Bonfol, Bressaucourt, Bure, Chevenez, Courchavon, Courtemaîche, Courgenay, Cornol, Courtedoux, Damphreux, Beurnevésin, Damvant, Fontenais, Grandfontaine, Alle et Montignez rentrèrent dans l’Evêché de Bâle. Gobel, né à Thann en 1727, évêque auxiliaire de Bâle avec le titre d’évêque in partibus de Lydda, fut également l’un des rédacteurs, avec Vergennes, du traité d’alliance entre le roi de France et l’évêque de Bâle en 1780. En 1789, Gobel est élu député aux États-Généraux par le clergé des districts de Belfort et d’Huningue et évêque constitutionnel de Paris. Il pousse alors le gouvernement à occuper l’évêché de Bâle. La France, prétextant la présence des Autrichiens, envahit l’évêché le 28 avril 1792. Il se fit alors nommer commissaire civil au pays de Bâle où on l’accusa d’avoir abusé de son pouvoir. Hébertiste, il fut guillotiné le 13 Avril 1794.

Gobel Alsatia Diplomatica annotée de sa main

Les 2 tomes portent son ex-libris armorié gravé ; l’un est à moitié arraché.

Angle inférieur de la p. 168 du t. I découpé sans manque de texte, des rousseurs. Habiles restaurations à la reliure. Document exceptionnel.

 

 

 

 

6 000 €