Louis Pasteur, in his search for the rabies vaccine, inoculates dogs from bulbs of rabbits, monkeys and even children

Pasteur note autographe recherche sur la rage

 

Pasteur. Histoire d'un savant.

[René Vallery-Radot]. M. Pasteur. Histoire d’un savant par un ignorant. Paris, J. Hetzel and Cie, n.d. [1884]. Large in-12. xiv, [2], 392 pp. Black half-morocco, back with 5 false bands, gilt title, gilt head, gilt cypher on the spine, gilt head, covers and back preserved.      

Original edition of Pasteur's first biography, written by his son-in-law.

Copy of the Journalist, man of letters and academician Jules Clarétie with his gilt cypher on the back, enriched with a signed autograph letter addressed to him by the author, and with 2 Louis Pasteur's autograph cards, notes from his research on the rabies vaccine, all thumb-indexed. With 3 press articles published in August 1940 announcing the suicide of Joseph Meister, first child saved from rabies by Pasteur, then concierge of the Institute.

René Vallery-Radot (1853-1933), écrivain et gendre de Louis Pasteur adresse une belle lettre autographe signée, no place [Paris], 5 May 1884, to Jules Clarétie. (3 pp. in-12).

Beautiful evocation of Pasteur by his son-in-law, a few days before the announcement of the discovery of the rabies vaccine. This letter also explains the provenance of the two precious files of the scientist.

Pasteur Recherches contre la rage

[…] Don't feel sorry for your lost card. I will choose another one of which each line will testify, like the one you had, a patient research, a laborious or ingenious effort, a new step finally in the stages of the experimental method, understood by a man of genius[…] For five years, I spent many hours in the intimacy of M. Pasteur, taking each time the impression you felt and that pushed me, ignorant, to try the story of this scientist. His modesty, which you were so struck at, resisted my project as a biographer.. But my life, he said, will not be of interest to the public.And when the public made my little book a success how would I say ? as a bad book, M. Pasteur was charming with candid astonishment. He didn't seem to suspect that I had spoken about a beautiful subject.. […] How you judge him well this great man who is so good! I knew what I was doing by asking you to come to the lab. M. Pastor thanked me as you thanked me yourself.

The 19 May, will be published on 1st cover of Le Figaro , newspaper in which Jules Clarétie collaborated,  the article "No more rabies! ", unsigned, announcing Pasteur's discovery of rabies vaccine. The same day, the scientist read to the Academy of Sciences his "Note on the prophylaxis of rabies", reread the next day 20 May at the Academy of Medicine.

There are, mounted after, the two precious autograph cardboard cards by Louis Pasteur that Vallery-Radot had offered to Jules Clarétie. R.Ink and pencil written, thno place and no date [Paris, ca. 1883-1884]. each 10 x 7 cm. 

Pasteur note autographe recherche sur la rage

 " 4 March. p. 59

Dog trepanated by monkey medulla

(There is a second one)

[added in pencil:] Dead "

Pasteur note autographe recherche sur la rage

[Front:] "7 July. p. 145

Dog inoculated under the skin by rabbit medulla

witness died on 7 to 10 h morning

10 nov. Inoculated right thigh 5 Dec. medulla

25th passage

13 Dec. Inoculated under the skin etc…

27 janv. page 41. Inoculated vein

left shank medulla 32th passage

[added in pencil:] dead not seen taken. 9 March "

Pasteur note autographe recherche sur la rage

 [Back, in pencil :] "28 February trepanated by medulla

7th passage origin child. "

With an invitation card for the inauguration of the Institut Pasteur, on 14 Novembre 1888.

Institut Pasteur Inauguration 1888

Exceptional set.

Price on request

Louis Pasteur, dans sa recherche du vaccin contre la rage, inocule des chiens à partir de bulbes de lapins, de singes et même d’enfants

 

Pasteur. Histoire d'un savant.

[René Vallery-Radot]. M. Pasteur. Histoire d’un savant par un ignorant. Paris, J. Hetzel et Cie, s.d. [1884]. Grand in-12 de xiv, [2], 392 pp. Demi-maroquin noir, dos à 5 faux-nerfs, titre doré, tête dorée, chiffre doré en pied, tête dorée, couverture et dos conservés.      

Edition originale de la première biographie de Pasteur, écrite par son gendre.

Exemplaire du journaliste, homme de lettres et académicien Jules Clarétie avec son chiffre doré au dos, enrichi d’une lettre autographe signée que lui a adressée l’auteur, et de 2 fiches cartonnées autographes de Louis Pasteur, notes de ses recherches du vaccin contre la rage, le tout monté sur onglets. Sont joints 3 articles de presse parus en août 1940 annonçant le suicide de Joseph Meister, premier enfant sauvé de la rage par Pasteur, alors concierge de l’Institut.

René Vallery-Radot (1853-1933), écrivain et gendre de Louis Pasteur adresse une belle lettre autographe signée, sans lieu [Paris], 5 mai 1884, à Jules Clarétie. (3 pp. in-12).

Belle évocation de Pasteur par son gendre, quelques jours avant l’annonce de la découverte du vaccin antirabique. Cette lettre explique en outre la provenance des deux précieuses fiches du savant reliées à la suite.

Pasteur Recherches contre la rage

[…] Ne vous désolez pas de votre fiche perdue. Je vous en choisirai une autre dont chaque ligne témoignera, comme celle que vous aviez, d’une recherche patiente, d’un laborieux ou d’un ingénieux effort, d’un nouveau pas enfin dans les étapes de la méthode expérimentale, comprise par un homme de génie[…] Depuis cinq ans, j’ai passé ainsi bien des heures dans l’intimité de M. Pasteur, emportant chaque fois l’impression que vous avez ressentie et qui m’a poussé, moi ignorant, à tenter l’histoire de ce savant. Sa modestie dont vous avez été si frappé résistait à mon projet de biographe. Mais ma vie, disait-il, n’intéressera pas le public.Et quand le public a fait à mon petit livre un succès comment dirai-je ? de mauvais livre, M. Pasteur a été charmant d’étonnement candide. Il n’avait pas l’air de se douter que j’avais traité un beau sujet. […] Que vous le jugez bien ce grand homme qui est si bon ! Je savais bien ce que je faisais en vous demandant de venir au laboratoire. M. Pasteur m’a remercié comme vous m’avez remercié vous-même.

Le 19 mai, paraitra en 1ère de couverture dans Le Figaro, journal auquel collaborait Jules Clarétie,  l’article « Plus de rage ! », non signé, annonçant la découverte du vaccin antirabique par Pasteur. Le même jour, le savant lisait à l’Académie des Sciences sa « Note sur la prophylaxie de la rage », relue le lendemain 20 mai à l’Académie de Médecine.

Se trouvent, montées à la suite, les deux précieuses fiches cartonnées autographes de Louis Pasteur que Vallery-Radot avait offertes à Jules Clarétie. Rédigées à l’encre et au crayon, elles sont sans lieu ni date [Paris, ca. 1883-1884]. chacune de 10 x 7 cm. 

Pasteur note autographe recherche sur la rage

 « 4 mars. p. 59

Chien trépané par bulbe singe

(Il y en a un second)

[ajouté au crayon :] Mort »

Pasteur note autographe recherche sur la rage

[Recto :] « 7 juillet. p. 145

Chien inoculé sous la peau par bulbe lapin

témoin mort le 7 à 10 h matin

10 nov. Inoculé cuisse droite 5 déc. bulbe

25e passage

13 déc. Inoculé sous la peau etc…

27 janv. page 41. Inoculé veine

jarret gauche bulbe 32e passage

[ajouté au crayon :] mort pas vu pris. 9 mars »

Pasteur note autographe recherche sur la rage

 [Verso, au crayon :] « 28 février trépané par bulbe

7e passage origine enfant. »

Avec un carton d’invitation pour l’inauguration de l’Institut Pasteur, le 14 novembre 1888.

Institut Pasteur Inauguration 1888

Ensemble exceptionnel.

Prix sur demande