The Meng-Tseu annotated by Stanislas Julien

 

MENG TSEU [Mencius] annoté par Stanislas JULIEN].] 甲申年石鐫 刻石堂藏板 西講孟子 爾梁茹蓮小儒校

Meng Tseu [Mencius in western language, by Stanislas Julien]. 道光四年(1824年),石板鐫刻 西講孟子,梁茹蓮校訂. [The Fourth Canonical Book]. No place, no name, no date [Paris, Dondrey-Dupré fils, Société Asiatique, 1824]. 2 parts in 1 vol. in-8°. 1 large title page, 122 pp.; 161 pp. sinograms (morphemes), completely lithographed by the Count Charles-Philibert de Lasteyrie. In Chinese. Contemporary full red shagreen, back with 4 false raised bands adorned, gilt title, romantic covers decorated with a large gilt motif, golden fillet on cuts, triple gilt fillets on inner-covers, gilt edges, white silk on inner-covers and end-papers.

Original edition, extremely rare, probably the copy of Stanislas Julien, because it has few annotations of his hand.

This is the second Chinese book printed in France and the first book published by the Asian Society of Paris. It takes up the Chinese text in sinograms (morphemes) printed on 143 lithographed leaflets in Paris in 1824 by Count Charles-Philibert de Lasteyrie, philanthropist and patron who played a major role in the development of lithography in France. This is the work of Meng-Tseu (400-316 before. J. C.), considered by the Chinese to be one of the most 4 books par excellence or the fourth canonical book of the second order. This will be followed by 2 latin translation volumes sold separately at the time in 1826 and 1829, by A.-S. Julien, eminent sinologist, student of Abel Rémusat to whom he will succeed the Collège de France. He then translated the greatest texts of the tradition Chinese philosophical.

He annotated, in pencil, pp. 7, 17, 27, 29, 123, 125 and 161 , Volume II, specifying the translation of certain sinograms.

Count Charles-Philibert de Lasteyrie du Saillant (Brive-la-Gaillarde, 1759 – Paris, 1849), French agronomist and philosopher, looked after the rural economy and travelled all over Europe to study the different farming processes ; he helped import the Merino sheep (1795), took care of the indigo tree culture, of rice, established the first manufacture of metal feathers, was interested in wool washrooms, in mills to grind plaster, in aloe in the manufacture of yarn and lace, in the merry-go-round mill to grind chocolate. He encouraged mutual education and the spread of the vaccine on which he wrote. He went in 1812 in Munich to study lithography with Aloys Senefelder and created in Paris in 1816 the first lithographic printing press. "He must be considered the promoter of lithography in France" (Benezit, VI, 465 ; Béraldi, 54-55).  

Quérard, VI, 40 ;  Brunet, III, 1632-1633 ; Graesse, Trésor de livres rares et précieux, III, 489.

Some stains, some browned leaflets, pp. 9-10/11-12 and 41-42/43-44 of volume II switched, marginal tear without lack and without damage to the lithography p. 65-66 volume I; rubbed joints, small accident in the head of spine, 8 small sinking points (pinheads) on the back cover without gravity.

Major work for the beginnings of sinology in France, one of the first examples of lithographic printing, Prestigious provenance.

 

                  

2 500 €

Le Meng-Tseu annoté par Stanislas Julien

MENG TSEU [Mencius] annoté par Stanislas JULIEN].] 甲申年石鐫 刻石堂藏板 西講孟子 爾梁茹蓮小儒校Meng Tseu [Mencius en langue occidentale, par Stanislas Julien]. 道光四年(1824年),石板鐫刻 西講孟子,梁茹蓮校訂. [Le Quatrième Livre canonique]. Sans lieu ni nom ni date [Paris, Dondrey-Dupré fils, Société Asiatique, 1824]. 2 tomes en 1 vol. in-8° de 1 page de grand titre, 122 pp. ; 161 pp. de sinogrammes (morphèmes), entièrement lithographiées par le comte Charles-Philibert de Lasteyrie. En chinois. Plein chagrin rouge de l’époque, dos à 4 faux nerfs orné, titre doré, plats romantiques ornés d’une grande plaque dorée, filet doré sur les coupes, triple filet doré sur les chasses, toutes tranches dorées, contre plats et gardes de tabis blancs.

Édition originale, extrêmement rare, probablement l’exemplaire de Stanislas Julien, puisqu’il porte quelques annotations de sa main.

Il s’agit du deuxième ouvrage chinois imprimé en France et le premier ouvrage publié par la Société asiatique de Paris. Il reprend le texte chinois en sinogrammes (morphèmes) imprimés sur 143 feuillets lithographiés à Paris en 1824 par le comte Charles-Philibert de Lasteyrie, philanthrope et mécène qui joua un grand rôle dans le développement de la lithographie en France. Il s’agit de l’ouvrage de Meng-Tseu (400-316 av. J. C.), considéré par les chinois comme l’un des 4 livres par excellence ou le quatrième livre canonique du second ordre. Suivront les 2 tomes de la traduction latine vendus séparément à l’époque respectivement en 1826 et 1829, de A.-S. Julien, éminent sinologue, élève d’Abel Rémusat à qui il succédera au Collège de France. Il traduisit ensuite les plus grands textes de la tradition philosophique chinoise.

Il a annoté de sa main, au crayon, les pp. 7, 17, 27, 29, 123, 125 et 161 du tome II, précisant la traduction de certains sinogrammes.

 

Le comte Charles-Philibert de Lasteyrie du Saillant (Brive-la-Gaillarde, 1759 – Paris, 1849), agronome et philosophe  français, s’occupa d’économie rurale et voyagea dans toute l’Europe pour étudier les différents procédés de culture ; il contribua à importer les moutons Mérinos (1795), s’occupa de la culture de l’indigotier, du riz, établit la première manufacture de plumes métalliques, s’intéressa aux lavoirs à laine, aux moulins à broyer le plâtre, à l’usage de l’aloès dans la fabrication du fil et de la dentelle, au moulin à manège pour broyer le chocolat. Il encouragea l’enseignement mutuel et la propagation de la vaccine sur lesquels il écrivit. Il alla en 1812 étudier à Munich la lithographie avec Aloys Senefelder et créa à Paris en 1816 la première imprimerie lithographique. « Il doit être considéré comme le promoteur de la lithographie en France » (Benezit, VI, 465 ; Béraldi, 54-55).  

Quérard, VI, 40 ;  Brunet, III, 1632-1633 ; Graesse, Trésor de livres rares et précieux, III, 489.

Des rousseurs, certains feuillets brunis, pp. 9-10/11-12 et 41-42/43-44 du tome II intervertis, déchirure marginale sans manque et sans atteinte à la lithographie p. 65-66 du tome I ; charnières frottées, petit accident à la coiffe de tête, 8 petits points d’enfoncement (têtes d’épingles) au plat inférieur sans gravité.

Ouvrage majeur tant pour les prémices de la sinologie en France, que pour l’un des premiers exemples d’imprimerie lithographique, à la provenance prestigieuse.

   

                                                                                     

 

2 500 €