Louis Pergaud writes from trenches, a few weeks before his death, a long letter to his friend Lucien Descaves.

 

Pergaud militaire

 

Louis Pergaud (1882-1915), writer. Autograph letter signed "Louis Pergaud  ", [Verdun], wednesday 3 march 1915, to his " dear master and friend » Lucien Descaves. 4 pages in-12. Autograph envelope with the address "Monsieur Lucien Descaves / 46 Rue de la Santé / Paris" and in the left corner, also autograph, "Envoi de / Louis Pergaud / adjudant 1st Baton / from 166th d’Infth Verdun  ". With blue stamp of the postal service of the 166th Infantry Regiment.

Pergaud Lettre à Descaves 1915

Long and moving letter from the front, unpublished, written a few weeks before his death (on the night of the 7 to 8 April) to Lucien Descaves (1861-1949), writer, founding and influential member of the Goncourt Academy that crowned Pergaud's first work, De Goupil à Margot. He was the dedicatee of La Revanche du Corbeau. The two writers were very frindly.

Louis Pergaud talks about the difficult living conditions of the Poilus, his health sometimes failing, but above all his will to win, his good morale despite a certain weariness, and his life in the trenches, punctuated by evenings with friends. Less anti-militarist than he was at the beginning of the war, however, he is still as anticlerical, comparing "these pigs of Boches " to pope's crabs!

Pergaud Lettre à Descaves 1915

"The existence of battalion warrant officers offers less colour and picturesqueness than trench life, but it has its advantages especially when you feel vaguely exhausted by 5 months of paddling in the silt and in the … sewer as the Poilus say.  "

Pergaud Lettre à Descaves 1915

He feared he had typhoid fever. : " I was coughing, I was sweating at night, I had headaches, muscle soreness, diarrhea, fever: 38°2 ". It was just an old bile and old fatigue; a good purge put him back on his feet "and here I am again with the flowery complexion, a hunting dog appetite, drinking dry and peeing clear.  "

Pergaud Lettre à Descaves 1915

Since 4 or 5 days, he recovers his health quickly, predicting an upcoming offensive : "I may soon need all my strength, with spring and sunny days it will be necessary to clear the country and these pigs of Boches cling to all the important points like insects that I will not more clearly designate to papal testicles. " The morale of the troops is excellent and he talks about the blaze of glory of Sergeant Major Clairon from the 11rd company, who, with 3 volunteers, seized without suffering losses of a pennant that the Germans had placed as a defiance behind the barricade of Marchéville: "We had a little action around that the newspapers talked about at length and it gave confidence to everyone except the naturally boches who had to find the trick nasty.

Pergaud Lettre à Descaves 1915

I never heard more rabid music: the ground watered by our shells disappeared into the smoke and it was, I promise you, staggering impressive . " He expects "without haste or fever " his appointment as a deputy lieutenant. [He will be promoted the next day]. His life in the trenches, however, is not to be complained about; "my neighbors the artillery officers consider me a friend and I spend with them at their table which is good, pleasant hours. Infantry is more reserved, except for the great chefs of which the colonel [Charles Desthieux de Fournoux] who actively shows me his sympathy.

Pergaud Lettre à Descaves 1915

Although the country has suffered badly it is very easy to refuel in everything and the ordinary often rises from some old bottle of this wine which France is proud of as Verlaine would say. " He is, however, tired of "the continence to which we condemn the harsh morality of our governor " [Henri Coutanceau (1855-1942), General of Division. He had written on the front door of the fort of Verdun: "Burying yourself under the ruins of the fort, rather than surrendering". The "pudishgod  ", as Pergaud calls it, was nicknamed "The Bolt"]. The writer finally talks about Colette journalist: "Did I tell you the good story that happened to Colette coming to V[erdun] see her husband? If not I'll tell you in s[o]m[e] next letter. She had gone to see her husband Henri de Jouvenel in Verdun, and pushed curiosity a little further in Argonne. Brought back "manu militari", she wrote war reports for "Le Matin". They will be published in " Les Heures longues 1914-1917 ".

Lucien Descaves' response, dated 10 march, is published in Les Tranchées de Louis Pergaud, p. 307.

Not in Correspondance, in Œuvres complètes de Louis Pergaud, Mercure de France, 1955 ; as well as Bernard Piccoli, Les Tranchées de Louis Pergaud, Bar-le-Duc, Connaissance de la Meuse, 14/18 Meuse, 2006.

Pergaud Lettre à Descaves 1915

4 500 €

Louis Pergaud écrit des tranchées, quelques semaines avant sa mort, une longue lettre à son ami Lucien Descaves.

 

Pergaud militaire

 

Louis Pergaud (1882-1915), écrivain. Lettre autographe signée « Louis Pergaud », [Verdun], mercredi 3 mars 1915, à son « Bien cher maitre et ami » Lucien Descaves. 4 pages bi-feuillet in-12. Avec enveloppe autographe portant l’adresse « Monsieur Lucien Descaves / 46 Rue de la Santé / Paris » et dans le coin gauche, également autographe, « Envoi de / Louis Pergaud / adjudant 1er Baton / du 166e d’Infe Verdun ». Avec cachet bleu du service postal du 166e Régiment d’Infanterie.   

Pergaud Lettre à Descaves 1915

Longue et émouvante lettre du front, inédite, écrite quelques semaines avant sa mort (dans la nuit du 7 au 8 avril) à Lucien Descaves (1861-1949), écrivain, membre fondateur et influent de l’Académie Goncourt qui couronna le premier ouvrage de Pergaud, De Goupil à Margot. Il fut le dédicataire de La Revanche du Corbeau. Les deux écrivains furent très liés.

Louis Pergaud évoque les conditions de vie difficile des poilus, sa santé parfois défaillante, mais surtout sa volonté de victoire, son bon moral malgré une certaine lassitude, et sa vie dans les tranchées, ponctuée de soirées entre amis. Moins antimilitariste qu’il ne l’était au début de la guerre, il est cependant toujours aussi anticlérical, comparant « ces cochons de Boches » à des morpions du pape !

Pergaud Lettre à Descaves 1915

« L’existence d’adjudant de bataillon offre moins de couleur et de pittoresque que la vie de tranchées, mais elle a ses avantages surtout quand on se sent vaguement fourbu par 5 mois de barbottage dans la vase et dans la … flotte comme disent les poilus. »

Pergaud Lettre à Descaves 1915

Il a redouté être atteint de la fièvre typhoïde : « je toussais, je transpirais la nuit, j’avais des maux de tête, de la courbature, de la diarrhée, de la fièvre : 38°2 ». Ce n’était qu’une vieille bile et de la vieille fatigue ; une bonne purge l’a remis sur pied « et me revoici avec le teint fleuri, un appétit de chien de chasse, buvant sec et pissant clair. »

Pergaud Lettre à Descaves 1915

Depuis 4 ou 5 jours, il se refait vite, présageant une prochaine offensive : « j’aurai peut être sous peu besoin de toutes mes forces, avec le printemps et les beaux jours il va bien falloir déblayer le pays et ces cochons de Boches se cramponnent à tous les points importants comme des insectes que je ne désignerai pas plus clairement à des testicules papaux. » Le moral des troupes est excellent et il évoque le coup d’éclat du sergent-major Clairon de la 11ème compagnie qui, accompagné de 3 volontaires, s’est emparé sans subir de pertes d’un fanion que les Allemands avaient placé en guise de défi derrière la barricade de Marchéville : « Nous avons eu aux alentours une petite action dont les journaux ont longuement parlé et ça a donné confiance à tous sauf aux boches naturellement qui ont dû trouver la plaisanterie saumâtre.

Pergaud Lettre à Descaves 1915

Jamais je n’entendis musique plus enragée : le terrain arrosé par nos obus disparaissait dans la fumée et c’était, je vous jure, bougrement impressionnant. » Il attend « sans hâte ni fièvre » sa nomination au grade de sous-lieutenant. [Il sera promu le lendemain]. Sa vie dans les tranchées n’est cependant pas à plaindre ; « mes voisins les officiers d’artillerie me considèrent comme un ami et je passe en leur compagnie à leur table qui est bonne, des heures agréables. L’infanterie est plus réservée, sauf les grands chefs dont le colonel [Charles Desthieux de Fournoux] qui me témoigne d’active manière sa sympathie.

Pergaud Lettre à Descaves 1915

Bien que le pays ait rudement souffert on arrive très facilement à se ravitailler en tout et l’ordinaire se relève souvent de quelque vieille bouteille « de ce vin dont la France s’honore«  comme dirait Verlaine. » Il éprouve cependant de la lassitude quant « à la continence à laquelle nous condamne la morale sévère de notre gouverneur » [Henri Coutanceau (1855-1942), général de division. Il avait fait inscrire sur la porte d’entrée du fort de Verdun : « S’ensevelir sous les ruines du fort, plutôt que de se rendre ». Le « pudibondieux », comme le qualifie Pergaud, était surnommé « Le boulon »]. L’écrivain évoque enfin Colette journaliste : « Vous ai-je conté la bonne histoire qui est arrivée à Colette venue à V[erdun] voir son mari ? Si non je vous la dirai dans q[uel]q[ue] prochaine lettre. » Elle était allée voir son mari Henri de Jouvenel à Verdun, et poussé la curiosité un peu plus loin en Argonne. Ramenée « manu militari », elle rédigea des reportages de guerre pour « Le Matin ». Ils seront édités dans « Les Heures longues 1914-1917 ».

La réponse de Lucien Descaves, datée du 10 mars, est publiée dans Les Tranchées de Louis Pergaud, p. 307.

Manque à la Correspondance, dans Œuvres complètes de Louis Pergaud, Mercure de France, 1955 ; ainsi qu’à Bernard Piccoli, Les Tranchées de Louis Pergaud, Bar-le-Duc, Connaissance de la Meuse, 14/18 Meuse, 2006.

Pergaud Lettre à Descaves 1915

4 500 €